Images in Conflict: Photographic and cinematic images of situations of crisis and conflict change in terms of aesthetics and applications, thereby becoming targets themselves. On the one hand, image producers and the distribution channels for images have multiplied in the course of digital developments. This broadens perspectives and enables new narrative forms. On the other hand, it is associated with an upheaval of classical photojournalistic self-perception. The rivalry between visual strategies can increase the affective potential of images. It also raises the question to what extent photographs can still function as witnesses. In the realm of claims to truth, they move among authenticity, objectivity and propaganda. Their contextualisation and framing create meanings and require reflection.
 
The symposium Images in Conflict will bring together experts in the theory and practice of photographic images and foster a discussion of visual testimony and emotional persuasiveness.

Four panels will elucidate various aspects of images in conflicts.

Under the topic of ›Agents and Perspectives‹, Dutch photographer Geert van Kesteren (›Why, Mister, Why?‹ and ›Baghdad Calling‹), Syrian graphic designer Dona Abboud (Out of Syria, Inside Facebook), pictorial scientist Philipp Müller (ISIS’ Image Strategies) and communications scientist Dr. Felix Koltermann (Photojournalists in Conflict: International Photojournalists in Israel/Palestine) will speak about the confrontation of professional shots and amateur pictures, the potential complicity in virtual testimony and the influences that production conditions have on photojournalistic acts in areas of conflict.
 
The subject of the second panel will be ›Nothing but the Truth‹: experienced journalist and Human Rights Watch spokeswoman Emma Daly (New York) will report on how photographic witnesses are used as evidence in the struggle for human rights. Prof. Dr. Ursula Frohne (University Münster), an art historian, will address the interplay of iconic picture status and the impression of certainty based on Harun Farocki’s ›Serious Games‹. Photographer and author Michael Ebert will discuss the misinformation that infuses the reception history of Nick Ut’s famous Vietnam War photos of children burnt by napalm. Stephen Mayes of the Tim Hetherington Trust will ask what digital processes make of the truth of an image.

The third panel will be devoted to pictures, and sometimes even conflicts, that are ›Visibly Invisible‹. In his project War Porn, Christoph Bangert (Cologne) carried out the daring experiment of switching off his inner censor and confronting us with pictures that challenge our viewing habits despite all the horrific images in circulation. Magnum photographer Donovan Wylie focuses on military architecture in conflict landscapes in his seemingly peaceful photos. Furthermore, Adam Broomberg, one partner in the artistic duo Broomberg&Chanarin, will warn against seeing pictures as singularities. Prof. Dr. Karen Fromm (Hanover University of Applied Sciences and Arts) will take on the theoretical classification of the mechanisms of exclusion and visualisation in photojournalism. Santiago Lyon, as keynote speaker, will report on his work for picture agencies (most recently AP, New York) and their practice of selecting photographs for editorial purposes. The panel will be moderated by the multi-award-winning photographer Dr. Paul Lowe from the London College of Communication.

›How to make images matter?‹ The closing panel will combine various approaches to the question of the efficacy of pictures. Author Dirk Gieselmann (Berlin) and photographer Armin Smailovic created an ›Atlas of Angst‹ on their journey through Germany. They use photos as one medium among others in order to convey the results of their research. Prof. Dr. Martin Scholz (Hanover University of Applied Sciences and Arts) will share his thoughts on the phenomenon of pictures as ›fans‹ of other pictures in the sense of the development of the effects of iconic photographs in their reception by subsequent photos. Dr. Vera Brandner (Innsbruck) will discuss photography as a form of action, dialogue and reflection whose effects become applicable in working with people in situations of cultural difference. Making photos both usable and useful is also a central topic of the presentation to be given by Prof. Dr. Rolf F. Nohr (Institute for Media Research, Braunschweig University of Art). He will look at images of flight and current populist picture strategies from the approach of critical discourse analysis.
 
Ultimately, questions continue to surround the core problem of the main task of photojournalists: how can pictures provide authentic reports and have an effect that touches us without manipulating us?

Location

Auditorium of the Fac. III,
Dept. Design and Media,
Hochschule Hannover,
Expo Plaza 2,
30539 Hannover

Bilder im Konflikt: fotografische und filmische Bilder von Krisen- und Konfliktsituationen verändern sich in Ästhetik und Gebrauchsweisen – und geraten damit selbst ins Visier. Zum einen haben sich im Zuge der digitalen Entwicklungen die Bildproduzent*innen und Distributionskanäle von Bildern vervielfältigt. Das erweitert Perspektiven und ermöglicht neue Erzählformen. Zum anderen geht damit eine Erschütterung des klassischen bildjournalistischen Selbstverständnisses einher. Die Konkurrenz der visuellen Strategien sucht das Affektpotential der Bilder zu steigern. Zugleich wird hinterfragt, inwieweit Fotografien noch als Zeugnisse wirken können. Sie bewegen sich im Spannungsfeld von Wahrheitsansprüchen zwischen Authentizität, Objektivität und Propaganda. Ihre Kontextualisierungen und Rahmungen stellen Bedeutungen her – und erfordern Reflexion.

Das Symposium ›Images in Conflict‹ lässt Expert*innen aus Theorie und Praxis fotografischer Bilder aufeinandertreffen und in einen Diskurs über visuelle Zeugenschaft und emotionale Überzeugungskraft eintreten.

In vier Panels werden verschiedene Aspekte der Bilder in Konflikten beleuchtet.

Unter dem Fokus auf ›Akteure und Perspektiven‹ sprechen der niederländische Fotograf Geert van Kesteren (Why Mister, Why? & Baghdad Calling), die syrische Grafikdesignerin Dona Abboud (Out of Syria, Inside Facebook), der Bildwissenschaftler Philipp Müller (Bildstrategien des IS) und der Kommunikationswissenschaftler Dr. Felix Koltermann (Fotoreporter im Konflikt – Der internationale Fotojournalismus in Israel/Palästina) über das Aufeinandertreffen von professionellen Aufnahmen und Amateurbildern, die potentielle Mittäterschaft durch virtuelle Zeugenschaft, sowie die Einflüsse der Produktionsbedingungen in Konflikträumen auf das fotojournalistische Handeln.

Um ›Nichts als die Wahrheit‹ geht es im zweiten Panel, wenn die erfahrene Journalistin und Sprecherin von Human Rights Watch, Emma Daly (New York), davon berichtet, wie fotografische Zeugnisse als Beweismaterial im Kampf um Menschenrechte eingesetzt werden. Prof. Dr. Ursula Frohne (Universität Münster) spricht als Kunsthistorikerin das Zusammenspiel von ikonischem Bildstatus und dem Eindruck von Gewissheit anhand von Harun Farockis „Serious Games“ an. Der Fotograf und Autor Michael Ebert beschäftigt sich mit den Fehlinformationen, die die Rezeptionsgeschichte des bekannten Vietnamkriegsfotos napalmverbrannter Kinder von Nick Ut durchziehen. Stephen Mayes vom Tim Hetherington Trust fragt, was digitale Prozesse mit der Wahrheit des Bildes machen. Wie steht es um die Zusammenhänge von Fakten, alternativen Fakten und Wahrheit in Zeiten der digitalen Revolution?

Sichtbar unsichtbar‹ sind die Bilder, manchmal aber auch die Konflikte, denen sich die Fotografen des dritten Panels widmen. Christoph Bangert (Köln) wagte mit ›War Porn‹ das Experiment, seine Selbstzensur auszuschalten und uns mit Bildern zu konfrontieren, die unsere Sehgewohnheiten trotz aller verbreiteten Gräuelbilder herausfordern. Der Magnum-Fotograf Donovan Wylie fokussiert in seinen friedlich wirkenden Aufnahmen auf die militärischen Architekturen in Konfliktlandschaften. Und Adam Broomberg, Teil des Künstlerduos Broomberg&Chanarin, warnt davor, Bilder singulär zu betrachten. Prof. Dr. Karen Fromm (Hochschule Hannover) nimmt eine theoretische Einordnung der Mechanismen von Exklusion und Visualisierung im Fotojournalismus vor. Als Keynote-Speaker wird Santiago Lyon von seiner Arbeit für Bildagenturen (zuletzt: AP; New York) und deren Praxis der Selektion von Fotografien für die redaktionelle Verwertung berichten. – Die Moderation übernimmt der mehrfach preisgekrönte Fotograf Dr. Paul Lowe vom London College of Communication.

How to make images matter?‹ – Das abschließende Panel vereint unterschiedliche Annäherungen an die Frage nach der Wirksamkeit von Bildern. Der Autor Dirk Gieselmann (Berlin) und der Fotograf Armin Smailovic (München, Sarajevo) haben auf ihrer gemeinsamen Reise durch Deutschland einen ›Atlas der Angst‹ erstellt. Für sie fungieren Fotografien als ein Medium neben anderen, um die komplexen Ergebnisse ihrer Recherche zu vermitteln. Über das Phänomen von Bildern als ‚Fans‘ anderer Bilder im Sinne der Wirkungsentfaltung ikonischer Fotografien in der aufgreifenden Rezeption durch Folgebilder macht sich Prof. Dr. Martin Scholz (Hochschule Hannover) Gedanken. Dr. Vera Brandner betrachtet die Fotografie als Aktions-, Dialog- und Reflexionsform, deren Wirkung für das Arbeiten mit Menschen in Situationen kultureller Differenz nutzbar gemacht wird. Die Nutzbarmachung und Nützlichkeit von Bildern sind auch im Vortrag von Prof. Dr. Rolf F. Nohr (Institut für Medienforschung, Hochschule für Bildende Künste Braunschweig) zentrales Thema. Mit dem Ansatz der kritischen Diskursanalyse blickt er auf Fluchtbilder und aktuelle populistische Bildstrategien.

Dabei kreisen die Fragen letztlich immer wieder um das Kernproblem, die Hauptaufgabe von Fotojournalist*innen: Wie können Bilder wahrhaftig berichten und dabei eine Wirkung entfalten, die berührt, ohne zu manipulieren?

Veranstaltungsort

Hörsaal der Fak. III
Abt. Design und Medien,
Hochschule Hannover,
Expo Plaza 2,
30539 Hannover