Panel
Agents and Perspectives

(Realitätenkollaps? Zum Verhältnis und Status von Bild und Betrachter bei Terrorinszenierungen des sog. IS)
We are all facing a common problem that is, to a large extent, picture-based: when it concerns the presentations of terrorism by the so-called Islamic State, the media cannot agree whether such acts of violence should be disseminated in the media or simply ignored. In particular, when the mediatisation of an act of terrorism becomes an intentional act of terrorism itself, media reality and life reality form a complex set of conditions and partial relationship of competition. Moreover, this leads to questions concerning the complicity of media organisations. All the same, it is necessary to criticise the picture-producing civilians on the scenes of these acts who use their smartphones to record the acts themselves, or their consequences, and disseminate them internationally. Potentially everyone everywhere will photograph, film, share or view both real and medial acts of violence on the part of the ISIS, creating an indifferent mass of perpetrators, victims and those seemingly uninvolved. As a consequence, the dimensions of media reality and life reality are just as fuzzily delimited as the distinctions among the parties of perpetrators, accomplices, victims, protectors, aggressors and non-combatants. ISIS’ pictures, and above all their use in public media, confuse any clear boundaries.
An old paradox must again be discussed: repulsive scenes are agents of attraction. This outlines a phenomenon that can be identified but not easily explained. A method of collective psychology that assumes an intersubjective perception among the world’s population is not suitable from a scientific point of view, for not everyone is equally shocked, horrified, attracted or repulsed by ISIS’ images of terrorism. The idea of a collective psyche would mean the loss of a view to the potential efficacy and meaning of the images themselves. It is the visual products that transform our reality not only medially in the realm between repulsion and attraction, but that also organise our perception by means of stimulation, thus generating, in a perfidious way, an alternative reality that dissolves the difference between picture and body as well as the medial and real worlds. While this newly generated reality – particularly in the case of indexical media such as photography and video – can be received in a slightly naïve way, the rest is often difficult to perceive in terms of the distinguishing marks between everyday life and images of terrorism. It is essential to work through this rest – the exposure of artificial pictorial means and elements that generate ISIS’ power – that simultaneously instil fear and attract recruits – by examining two examples: a video of a burning released by ISIS’ own media department and the video of someone being shot by ISIS, filmed by someone who was seemingly uninvolved. Both examples demonstrate that their medial portrayedness is formally visible, but that this portrayedness can be removed in effective aesthetic terms in the short term.
By means of pictorial science-based approaches to an explanation, the first distancing options can now be made visible and the urgent need for pedagogical pictorial reporting strategies can be shown. Anyone who duplicates pictures from an organisation that strives to use media bombardment to control public opinion in order to create disorientation and separate society into good and evil should report about the reasons that certain pictures are publicly shown, the potential they have and what power readers and viewers have when it comes to allowing their everyday lives to be infected by portrayals of terrorism as little as possible.

Panel
Agents and Perspectives - Akteure und Perspektiven

(The Collapse of Reality? On the Relationship and Status of Picture and Viewer in Images of Terrorism by the So-Called Islamic State)
Wir stehen alle vor einem gemeinsamen Problem, das zu einem großen Teil bildbasiert ist: Geht es um Terrorinszenierungen des sog. Islamischen Staats, ist sich die Medienwelt uneins, ob derartige Gewaltakte im Einzelfall medial verbreitet oder nicht doch negiert werden sollten. Insbesondere wenn die Mediatisierung eines Terroraktes intentional zum Terrorakt selbst gehört, rücken mediale Realität und Lebenswirklichkeit in ein komplexes Bedingungs- und partielles Kongruenzverhältnis. Zudem stellen sich dadurch Fragen der Komplizenschaft von Medienorganen. Ebenso wird eine Kritik an bildproduktiven Zivilisten notwendig, die am Tatort mit ihrem Smartphone die Tat selbst oder deren Folgen privat aufzeichnen und global verbreiten. Potentiell alle Menschen fotografieren, filmen, teilen und betrachten überall tatsächliche und mediale Gewaltakte des IS, sodass eine indifferente Masse von Tätern, Opfern und scheinbar Unbeteiligten entsteht. Die Dimensionen mediale Realität und Lebenswirklichkeit sind folglich ebenso wenig klar getrennt wie die Parteien Täter, Mittäter, Opfer, Beschützer, Aggressor und Nicht-Kombattant ohne Weiteres geklärt. IS-Bilder und vor allem deren Einsatz in öffentlich wirksamen Medien verflüssigen klare Grenzen.

Ein altbekanntes Paradoxon muss nun immer wieder diskutiert werden: abstoßende Szenen sind Agenten der Attraktion. Damit ist ein Phänomen skizziert, das feststell-, doch nicht leicht erklärbar zu sein scheint. Eine kollektiv-psychologisierende Methode, die der globalen Bevölkerung eine intersubjektive Wahrnehmung unterstellen würde, ist aus wissenschaftlicher Sicht denkbar unangemessen; nicht jede Person ist gleichermaßen schockiert, gelähmt, angezogen oder abgestoßen von den Terrorbildern des IS. Mit der Vorstellung einer Kollektivpsyche würde auch der Blick für das Wirkungs- und Bedeutungspotenzial der Bilder selbst verloren gehen. Denn es sind gerade die visuellen Produkte, die zwischen Repulsion und Attraktion unsere Wirklichkeit nicht nur medial transformieren, sondern unsere Wahrnehmung mittels Affizierung organisieren und dadurch auf perfide Weise eine alternative Wirklichkeit generieren, die den Unterschied zwischen Bild und Körper, medialer und lebenswirklicher Welt tendenziell auflösen können. Während diese neu generierte Wirklichkeit – insbesondere bei indexikalischen Medien wie Foto und Video – leicht naiv rezipierbar ist, erscheint der Rest an kritischer Differenzmarkierung zwischen Alltag und Terrorbild oft schwer wahrnehmbar. Gerade diesen Rest gilt es über das Herausstellen künstlicher Bildmittel und -elemente, die jene Kraft der IS-Bilder erzeugen, die zugleich Angst schürt und Rekruten lockt, an zwei Beispielen durchzuexerzieren: ein Verbrennungsvideo der Medienabteilung des IS selbst und ein Erschießungsvideo des IS, gefilmt von einem scheinbar Unbeteiligten. Beide Beispiele demonstrieren, dass ihre mediale Inszeniertheit formal sichtbar ist, diese sich aber wirkungsästhetisch kurzzeitig wieder aufheben kann.

Mittels bildwissenschaftlicher Erklärungsansätze können nun erste Distanzierungsoptionen sichtbar gemacht und auf die Dringlichkeit einer bildpädagogischen Berichterstattungsstrategie hingewiesen werden. Wer Bilder einer Organisation abdruckt, die durch medialen Beschuss die öffentliche Meinung beherrschen möchte, um für Desorientierung zu sorgen und damit die Gesellschaft in gut und böse zu teilen, sollte darüber berichten, weshalb welche Bilder öffentlich gezeigt werden, welches Potenzial sie besitzen und welche Zugänge Leser und Betrachter selbst legen können, um ihren Alltag von den Terrorinszenierungen möglichst wenig infizieren zu lassen.